Have you heard about the 5:2 fast diet?? You can watch the BBC documentary here. I also just purchased and am working my way through the book – pretty fast read.

14431142_130109223000

The basic concept is that you eat a regular diet 5 days of the week and fast for 2 days, split however you like them. On ‘fast’ days, you should limit your caloric intake to 500 (if you’re a lady). Not only is this diet good for weight loss and/or control, but studies are showing a strong correlation between fasting and resistance (is that the right word?) to serious diseases such as cancer, diabetes, and heart disease.

 

I’m going to give it a try!

I’ve decided that my fast days will be Friday and Monday – which means my first fast day will be tomorrow, July 26!

I’m going to take some measurements of myself and post them here (maybe) so that I can track the changes! I’m excited!